Les Miserables

 
Castle on a cloud (Young Cosette)
 
There is a castle on a cloud,
I like to go there in my sleep,
Aren’t any floors for me to sweep,
Not in my castle on a cloud.
There is a room that’s full of toys,
There are a hundred boys and girls,
Nobody shouts or talks too loud,
Not in my castle on a cloud.
There is a lady all in white,
Holds me and sings a lullaby,
She’s nice to see and she’s soft to touch,
She says "Cosette, I love you very much."
I know a place where no one’s lost,
I know a place where no one cries,
Crying at all is not allowed,
Not in my castle on a cloud.
Oh help! I think I hear them now,
and I’m nowhere near finished sweeping and scrubbing and polishing the floor.
Oh, it’s her! It’s Madame!
 
On my own (Eponine)
 
And now I’m all alone again
Nowhere to turn, no one to go to
Without a home, without a friend
Without a face to say hello to.
And now the night is near
Now I can make believe he’s here.
Sometimes I walk alone at night
When everybody else is sleeping
I think of him and then I’m happy
With the company I’m keeping
The city goes to bed
And I can live inside my head.
On my own
Pretending he’s beside me
All alone, I walk with him till morning 
Without him
I feel his arms around me
And when I lose my way I close my eyes
And he has found me
In the rain the pavement shines like silver
All the light are misty in the river
In the darkness, the trees are full of starlight
And all I see is him and me for ever and forever
And I know it’s only in my mind
That I’m talking to myself and not to him
And althought I know that he is blind
Still I say, there’s a way for us
I love him
But when the night is over
He is gone, the river’s just a river
Without him the world around me changes
The trees are bare and everywhere
The streets are full of strangers
I love him
But every day I’m learning
All my life I’ve only been pretending
Without me his world will go on turning
A world that’s full of happiness
That I have never known!
I love him   I love him
I love him   But only on my own.
 
Finale (Chorus)
 
Do you hear the people sing
Lost in the valley of the night?
It is the music of a people
Who are climbing to the light.
For the wretched of the earth
There is a flame that never dies.
Even the darkest night will end
And the sun will rise.
They will walk behind the plough-share,
They will put away the sword.
The chain will be broken
And all men will have their reward.
Will you join in our crusade?
Who will be strong and stand with me?
Somewhere beyond the barricade
Is there a world you long to see?
Do you hear the people sing?
Say, do you hear the distant drums?
It is the future that they bring
When tomorrow comes!
Will you join in our crusade?
Who will be strong and stand with me?
Somewhere beyond the barricade
Is there a world you long to see?
Do you hear the people sing?
Say, do you hear the distant drums?
It is the future that they bring
When tomorrow comes…
Tomorrow comes!
 
The curtain falls.
 
 

About alwayscola18

*Always be misunderstood. *Majored in business administration, but contributing to satisfaction of primary living needs. *Prefer to speak out, and enjoy silence. *A Mandarin speaker, but not a grand-China nationalist; a Hokkien dialect speaker, but not an aggressive grass-root activist; an English reader, but not negative to my homeland; a baby Christian, but not a confrontationist to the God of earth. *With personalities of patience, cleverness, discernment, toleration, self-confidence, and friendliness.
This entry was posted in 筆記. Bookmark the permalink.

1 則回應給 Les Miserables

  1. russ 說:

    感谢参观I 希望您能读这

發表迴響

